The Conrad Research Group


Our group in 2019

Our group in 2019! Back row: Janet Conrad, Len Bugel, Jarrett Moon, Medani Sangroula, Daniel Winklehner, Lauren Yates, Polina Abratenko, Spencer Axani, Carlos Arguelles; Front row: Alex Diaz, Marjon Moulai, Loyd Waites, Joe Smolsky, Philip Weigel, Adrien Hourlier


At present, we are not planning to add a graduate student to the group in Fall 2022.

Grad Students:

  • Alejandro Diaz -- IceCube
  • Nicholas Kamp -- MicroBooNE
  • Darcy Newmark -- CCM
  • Joe Smolsky -- IsoDAR
  • Loyd Waits -- IsoDAR
  • Philip Weigel -- IceCube
  • Lauren Yates -- MicroBooNE
  • John Hardin -- IceCube
  • Austin Schneider -- LAr Experiments
  • Daniel Winklehner -- IsoDAR and DAEδALUS
  • Retired high school teacher and mechanical engineer: Len Bugel-- primarily LAr R&D
  • Accelerator physicist: Jose Alonso -- IsoDAR and DAEδALUS

Awards in past 5 years...

  • Nick Kamp --NSF Graduate Fellow, 2020-2023
  • Joe Smolsky --NSF Graduate Fellow, 2019-2022
  • Ben Jones -- Tanaka Dissertation Award, 2017
  • Gabriel Collin -- MIT Martin Deutch Award, 2016
  • Gabriel Collin -- American Australian Association Fellow , 2016
  • Marjon Moulai --NSF Graduate Fellow, 2015-2018

Left our group within the past few years:

  • Carlos Arguelles -- Faculty at Harvard University as of July, 2017. Collaborating with us on IceCube
  • Taritree Wongjirad -- Faculty at Tufts University as of July, 2017. Collaborating with us on MicroBooNE
  • Marjon Moulai -- Graduated in April, 2021. Now a Balzan Fellow at University of Wisconsin.
  • Jarrett Moon -- Graduated in July, 2020. Now in medical school at University of North Carolina.
  • Spencer Axani -- Graduated in October, 2019. Now a postdoc in the Winslow Group at MIT.
  • Gabriel Collin -- Graduated in June, 2018. Now a Ramsay Fellow at University of Adelaide.

This page was updated Sept. 2021.